The 4 levels of the SSDI appeals process

On Behalf of | Oct 26, 2021 | Social Security Disability |

When you have an injury that is serious enough to keep you from earning a living, you may look to the government for help. You may choose to apply for Social Security Disability Insurance from the U.S. Social security Administration. You may, too, like many others, receive a denial in response.

Per the SSA, if the administration denies your initial SSDI claim, you have the option of moving forward with an appeal. There are four stages associated with the SSDI appeals process, and they are as follows.

1. Reconsideration

The first step in appealing a denied SSDI claim involves resubmitting the claim and any accompanying documentation so someone completely different has a chance to review it. If this person agrees with the first one who denied your claim, you may need to proceed with step two.

2. Administrative hearing

The second step in the SSDI appeals process requires you to have a hearing with an administrative law judge to see if he or she agrees with the decision to deny your claim. The hearing usually takes place within 75 miles of your home.

3. Appeals council review

If steps one and two do not get you the results you want, you may be able to ask the appeal council to further review your case. The council has the option of deciding not to review your claim.

4. Federal court review

If the appeals council agrees to review your claim but then denies it, your final option involves undergoing a federal court review.

When appealing a denied SSDI claim, timing matters. You typically have 60 days from when you received your denial to appeal the SSA’s decision.

FindLaw Network